Bootcamp Goals

Two weeks ago, I joined an Asp.net boot camp organized by some senior c# developers and it is free. This presented an opportunity to up my c# skills and learn from developers with more exposure and experience. There's one thing i keep in mind about learning from people that are better than you, it makes the journey easier and shorter.

The boot camp officially started this week and it is important I have a view of what I want to achieve by the end of the boot camp, this will act as a guide on how much effort I need to put in. The little time I have spent with c# and the dotnet ecosystem has shown me how wide and deep it can get, it is easy to get lost in the countless resources available to learn from which will undoubtedly be overwhelming for someone who is just starting out.

Asp.net is the focus of this boot camp with an emphasis on the overall architecture of a web backend solution in real systems. Anybody that has spent time building any big project alone or in a team knows coding is the least difficult part of it, architecting software to be able to meet the expectation of the end-user without negatively impacting the developer experience is the hardest part.

Some of the things I want to achieve by the end of this boot camp are :

  • I want to be able to focus on cross-cutting requirements that good architecture should address.

  • I want to understand the complete lifecycle and how to respond to changes in requirements.

  • I want to be able to find a balance between the requirements and solutions available.

  • I want to develop the ability to visualize mentally and address system-wide concerns.

  • I want to learn how to learn from experience and formulate new approaches to problems encountered.

This boot camp is a good starting point in the journey of going from a budding developer to a competent one and I am happy for this opportunity and intend to make the best use of it.